"Official" Unofficial Tribal Election Results Released

Law says Center Lodge District Race may require second recount.

"Official" Unofficial Tribal Election Results Released

This article was originally published by Four Points Press on November 7, 2021.

The canvasses and consolidated unofficial election results for the tribal general election were released during the early morning hours. The center Lodge District Race may be contestable based on stipulations set forth in Article VIII Sec. 13 the Crow Election ordinance.

Wacey Real Bird, Kenny E. Pretty On Top and Lloyd Hogan III received between 23.27% and 24.78% of the vote share. Each candidate was within 1% of the other and according to the law an automatic recount is required within two days. Although, it does not stipulate whether the recount is by hand or through voting machines.

The ordinance goes on to read, “In the case of a tie vote among the second and third top vote getters in the primary election, the top three candidates will be placed on the General Election Ballot as the top candidates. In the case of a tie vote in the General Election, the election judges shall conduct an automatic recount of the general election ballots. If a tie exists after the automatic recount, a special election shall be held within (10) working days in the manner specified herein for the General Election.”

The chief judge race was split by a 1.66% margin of difference and the second and third place winners of the Big Horn District race were only split by a 1.39% difference.

Election results are as follows:

Chief Judge

Myra Left Hand 1102*

Jackie Yellowtail 1066

Associate Judge

Darren McDonald Win by Acclamation

Arrow Creek / Pryor District

Jason Kills Pretty Enemy (incumbent) 236*

Bryce Hugs (incumbent) 218*

Isaiah Hugs 159

Black Lodge District

Darwin J. Spotted  (incumbent) 282*

Velma Pickett 276*

Merritt "Hugo" Whiteclay  (incumbent) 144

Levi C. Flinn 94

Center Lodge / Reno District

Cody Chief Child-Meeks 284*

Lloyd Lind Hogan III (incumbent) 230*

Wacey Real Bird 228

Kenny E. Pretty On Top 225

Mighty Few / Wyola District

Brandon Good Luck 196*

Newton Old Crow Jr. (incumbent) 176*

Ramon White 126

Valley of the Chiefs / Lodge Grass District

Dean Don't Mix 274*

Tyson Gros Ventre (incumbent) 233*

Thomas Yellowtail (incumbent) 222

Michael L. Hill Sr. 203

Valley of the Give Away / Big Horn District

Charla R. Takes Enemy 159*

Patrick Allen 132*

Marlin "Yo-Yo" Not Afraid (incumbent) 125

Allison Bauyer Jr. 79

Editor's Note: This story has been corrected to clarify that the Center Lodge District race may be be contestable based on stipulations set forth in Article VIII Sec. 13 the Crow Election ordinance.

Sign up for Four Points Press, our free email newsletter

Get the latest headlines right in your inbox